Curing olives

I purchased some raw olives from Flora Bella farms at the Santa Monica farmers market a couple weeks ago and thought I would give curing olives a try. Talking with some other shoppers, I got an idea of how to start. I went online to double-check the recipe. Here is how I did it.

Wash the olives and poke with a fork a few times. This will allow the bitterness to release out. Cover with water in a jar, changing water each day for 10 days. After the 10 days, drain and prepare brine. I used a 3-1 salt water-vinegar brine and added some garlic and herbs. The olives will then cure for three weeks before they are ready to eat.

olives0001.jpg

I just brined mine so I have three weeks to wait to see how they turn out. I can’t wait.:)

I bought another batch of raw olives at the Marin County farmers market. I started the 10-day rinsing today and plan on trying a different brine for these. We’ll see what happens.olives0002.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Curing olives”

  1. Angela
    November 15, 2007 at 9:20 pm #

    Fun! Can’t wait to try them!

Leave a Reply

