Jamie’s Cannelloni

I bought Jamie Oliver’s new book, Cook with Jamie, a couple months ago. Inside his recipe for Honeycomb cannelloni enticed me (as do many of his other recipes) and have been meaning to make it. Some friends were coming over for Saturday dinner and I finally had the opportunity to give it a try.

I used the tomatoes I had canned earlier in the season as the base, adding veggies and Rocky Canyon ground pork(The original recipe calls for dry and fresh mushrooms, which I did not have, so I used the pork instead. The flavor would be great either way.)

I was surprised once it was in the oven cooking, how easy it was. It only looks complicated. And it was delicious!! Creamy from the crème and savory from the meat, tomatoes, and spinach. I took a picture of it before it went in the oven but was so hungry when it finished that I forgot to take a finished product picture. Jamie has pictures of the whole process in his book so I will post those. It makes it a lot easier to understand the process with pictures.

The only problem I have with this recipe is that it is hard to get the cannelloni out intact. They are so packed in the pot that it is hard to get them out individually. Tastes the same, just not as plate pretty.

If you love pasta, give this recipe a go. You and your guests will love it!

( I will post the recipe and Jamie’s pictures tonight.)

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Jamie’s Cannelloni”

  1. Andrew
    February 22, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I’m planning on making this recipe but I can’t decide if I should use regular or oven ready cannelloni. Any suggestions?

    • melissadavisfood
      February 23, 2011 at 7:18 am #

      Hi Andrew-
      I double checked Jaime’s recipe and he suggested using high quality regular cannelloni. I agree, but make sure you have plenty of sauce, as the noodles will absorb some of it. Good luck and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

