Persimmon Flan

 

 

persimmon.jpg

There isn’t much free time in my daily life but what time I do have I enjoy browsing through cookbooks and food magazines. Recently I came across a recipe for a persimmon flan. The persimmons are in season here in SoCal and I have wanted to try cooking with them. I sampled them fresh but the texture was a little hard for me to get past, so I thought cooking might be a better way to get them into my diet.

I picked up a few at the farmers market to give it a try. I haven’t had a lot of practice with making custard as it always seemed so difficult. I followed the recipe with every detail and put it in the oven.


What a wonderful surprise when I flipped it over onto a plate! A beautiful golden syrup puddle surrounded the flan and complemented the rich golden color on the top. I couldn’t wait to cut into it and give it a try!

I brought it to a parent meeting at school and it was a big hit. A perfect balance of sweet and savory. The texture was smooth and delicate. I love that when something comes out so perfect!

With the confidence of success, I plan to make it again and again. (I actually did make it again the next week, as a gift for the neighbor.)

 

p-flan.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Persimmon Flan”

  1. Angela
    December 4, 2007 at 11:29 pm #

    Our lives are SO different. I marvel in our differences and admire your lifestyle…… and ability and patience to cook!

Leave a Reply

