Winter Fruit

guava.jpgThe holiday season is upon us and that means winter fruit!! I have always looked forward to this time of year because Satsuma oranges are so abundant. We love them for snacking and in our Christmas stockings. Before today I thought that winter fruit only meant satsumas.

I bought a big bag of the little fruit on Saturday and we ate through half of them. I had to go back on Sunday to get more for the week. As I was collecting more I noticed a fruit I had never seen before. I thought they were sapote, a fruit I had tried in Costa Rica, that was creamy like a avacado but mildly sweet. The vendor said no, it was guava. Being from the NW, I had never encountered fresh guava before. I sampled and loved it. You eat it whole, skin and seeds. It has a green thin skin and light pink flesh. It is mildly sweet with a hint of lemon and the inner texture similar to a soft apricot. I bought a few for snacking and hope the kids will like it as well. One more reason to appreciate living in a new place! Food experiences that would have never been possible at home! If you have never tried it, head to the farmers market and give it a try. You may fall in love too

Categories: nutrition

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

