Indian Fry Bread

Helping me move cookbooks to a better location near the kitchen, my son stopped to browse for Alton Brown. After a few moments he turned to me and asked “what was your very first cookbook and what inspired you to learn to cook?” These are the moments my husband keeps reminding me to write down.

I explained to him that it wasn’t one thing that inspired me to learn. Being around the kitchen a lot, having the opportunity to cook with my grandma and mom, and loving food so much were all inspirations. He nodded. And the cookbook? Right there on the top shelf, the big yellow paper one with plastic spiral binding. Kids in the Kitchen. I felt fortunate that I had picked it up at the thrift store a few years back, after losing track of the original during the numerous moves of my childhood. Paging through it brought back memories so fresh; it was as if it were days ago instead of years.

We paged through it together, as I explained what I liked about it so much. It was as if it were made by a child, the ingredients and measurements drawn out in picture next to the words, as well as the steps to prepare. I remember as a child thinking how easy and fun each recipe looked. There was even a fun picture at the bottom of some of the recipes with kids enjoying the food.

He seemed to match my enthusiasm. “Let’s make this one! And this one!” His reading has really improved over the last year and was able to read the names of the recipes and the ingredients.

We settled on one recipe to make right away-Indian Fry Bread.

It was surprisingly easy to make. The kids were able to help me read the recipe as we went along. I did the overseeing as they measured, mixed, and rolled. Within a half hour we were tasting the fruits of our labor. Warm with melty honey! Yumm!

bread-and-salad0004.jpgbread-and-salad0005.jpgbread-and-salad0001.jpgbread-and-salad0002.jpgbread-and-salad0007.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Indian Fry Bread”

  1. Angela
    February 7, 2008 at 3:18 pm #

    “what was your very first cookbook and what inspired you to learn to cook?” That is ADORABLE!

  2. Justin
    February 14, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    I have been looking for this book for a looong time. It was my favorite as a kid, and I want to give it to my daughter. I can’t remember the name of the authors, but it was co-written by one of my mom’s friends. Nelly or Nia…? Can you give me any information as to where I can find it? Indian Fry bread was our favorite recipe!

  3. melissadavisfood
    February 21, 2008 at 1:52 am #

    The Kids In The Kitchen was printed in 1975 in Port Angeles, WA. You can search it online(ebay, amazon) but when I looked, it was out of stock.

  4. Deb Kumpula
    March 1, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    Melissa was an enthusuastic learner about gardening, fresh foods and cooking from the very beginning. Picture her sweet daughter with dark hair and you have Melissa at that age. We would pick blackberries down the block and she would either carry the abundance in her dress, or ask for a bigger cup. Her maternal grandfather was an avid gardener and she grew up eating right from the garden. One day I remember like it was yesterday was when she realized the beets in our small garden were ready to pick. She pulled them out and looked at me with those huge blue eyes and said she wanted them for lunch. Of course, she didn’t know how long beets take to cook, being just two, so after a nap, they were ready. Simple- cooked with just a bit of butter. WE never had anything but butter in our house!
    Unfortunately, I – (Melissa’s Mom), did lose that original book of “kids in the Kitchen”- we used it at home when they she and her sisiter were small- then I took it to one of my classrooms. I am looking into seeing if the original printer would re- release it.

Leave a Reply

