Surfas shopping trip

I recently sold my nonstick cookware and have been saving the money in a secret box on the bookshelf. I told myself it could only be used on new essential cookware.

blog-feb-10007.jpg

My husband bought me a wonderful new cookbook for Christmas, Home Baking. It is a delight to browse, with beautiful pictures, heartfelt food writing, and an array of international artisanal breads and baked goods. It has inspired me to bake more at home. To do that I needed a couple things.

I took myself to Surfas, our local kitchen supply store and spent an hour browsing the aisles.  I found some great useful new tools.  A long rolling pin without handles to make pastry dough, a carbon steel crepe pan for flatbreads, a paring knife, a tart pan with a removable bottom, and sun-dried course sea salt from Trapani (Sicily),Italy.  I also bought some ricotta salata, which I have never tried, and some leaf lard.

blog-feb-10001.jpg

And I still have enough money left to go back on another day!

Categories: travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

