Northwest vacation

Spring break has given us a chance to head north for a vacation/family visit. We stopped in Seattle first and I made my rounds. First to Essential Bakery for the pizza bianca, then on to the Ballard marina, for a fresh wild Alaskan Coho salmon from Pete at Loki.(see Dec 07) I plan to barbeque it with some spring veggies for Easter dinner.

seattle-break0003.jpgseattle-break0004.jpg

The following day was the Ballard Sunday market, which I found bustling with a colorful Northwest crowd. It was a perfect late winter day, warm sun with a chill in the air. I pulled my gloves on and begun browsing. Not as much produce available but great selection of other food items, from artisan cheeses and grass-fed meats to baked goods and prepared hot foods. Ahead on the corner I saw Taylor Shellfish, where Bill sells fresh local clams, geoduck, oysters, and meditterean mussels. The mussels are the same variety that I fell in love with in southern Italy. I treat myslef to them on occasion, last time being on my birthday. I love to stop by for a jolly hello and big bear hug, promising to stop by again next time in town. His shellfish is available all over the west coast; in LA it can be found at Santa Monica Seafood.

I picked up some grass and whey-fed ground pork at the booth I used to work, for Samish Bay Cheese. With a limited amount of cash, I had to stick to the necessities. I pondered Hard apple cider, brussel sprouts, raw milk, but settled on a bag of baby chiogga beets for the St Patty’s day meal upcoming.

nw-visit0001.jpg

The St. Patrick’s Day meal went great-I did not have to cook a thing!  My wonderful father-in-law, Brock, took charge and made the whole thing.  He planned ahead and brined the brisket himself.  Shelby made her famous scones in double quantity, as per my request.  It came together nicely and tasted wonderful.  I loved siting at the table, enjoying this meal together like we have in years past.  It keeps getting better every year, the food and the company.  I appreciate my family the most after a long separation.

nw-visit0009.jpgnw-visit0012.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

