Large batch fresh stone-ground whole wheat bread

Using the wonderful Home Baking book I got for Christmas, I tried out another recipe.  I had my eye on the the large batch whole wheat bread and thought it was time to give it a try, with my grain mill now back at home.

A few years back I asked for a grain mill for Christmas.  My in-laws searched the stores but were not satisfied with what they saw.  I went out in search of the perfect mill and landed upon a used industrial stone-ground mill on ebay.  I enjoyed the fresh flour it produced for about a year until we decided to move to Southern California.  Being very large in size and heavy in weight, I entrusted my best friend from college with it.  On our last trip north, we stopped at her house and I decided it was time to bring it home.  I’m so happy I did!

This recipe is similar to the foccacia recipe I made a few months back, where you start with a poolish (water, yeast, flour) that ferments for 12-36 hours.  It continues on with a sponge that ferments another 8-18 hours.  After another 6 hours the dough is ready to bake.

The recipe made 5 loaves, three of which I gifted to important people in our lives (the kid’ s teachers and a close friend).  I was proud to give them away; they turned out very nice!  Great flavor, nice full rise,  and perfect interior consistency.

The recipe works great for my schedule.  I can leave it and come back when I have more time.  

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Large batch fresh stone-ground whole wheat bread”

  1. Priti
    April 11, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    Hey !!
    Really nice loaves. So now I have to remember to come by and borrow ur grain mill to try out a few things myself 🙂

  2. Angela
    April 25, 2008 at 9:52 pm #

    Reminds me of growing up and having that yummy bread from that bread bakery in Black Diamond.

  3. October 1, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    I have been baking with stone ground whole wheat flour for a couple years now and have developed several recipes for this flour and olive oil. Would love to share them with you check my site at ourmapetts.wordpress.com There is nothing like stone ground whole wheat for your health Love it!! I don’t grind my own but do get it from the Littleton Grist Mill in Littleton, NH

Leave a Reply

