camping gone wrong

I had a 5 day camping trip i’ve been planning since our last camping trip on Mother’s Day.  It was to start the day after the last day of school, to a place that sounded great online.  Near a creek and Lake Cachuma, in the mountains above Santa Barbara.  What camper would not love the sound of that?

We arrive at 4:00 in the afternoon and open the car window to a blast of heat, like that from a furnace on high.  So hot!  The camp host says it is 115 degrees at the moment and is not expected to cool down.  Trying to make the best of it we set up camp, sweaty and lethargic.  We just need to acclimate and it will be fine.  My husband is not convinced.  As the sun goes down, the heat lets up a bit but then come the bugs.  Mosquitos buzzing around, not at all repelled by the bug spray.  Our neighbors sound like they are having a high school party, complete with foul language and attitude.  A dog barks incessantly down the way.

We attempt to make some dinner.  No one really feels like cooking.  We pull out some bread, crackers, pita and hummus, and rice, trying to find something for everyone.  No one really feels like eating either, though they say they are hungry.  It should be better in the morning.

I awake refreshed and with a positive attitude.  It cooled down to a comfortable temperature in the night.  The morning felt fresh and I thought maybe we could make this work.  After last night, we had decided to go home early.  But maybe we had been too quick to judge.  I started with breakfast prep and a plan to stay.  My thoughts were interrupted by an insistent fly.  Shoo!  What was I just saying?  Oh, yeah, the plan-shoo! Now the mosquitos were out and it was starting to heat up.  Maybe we should go.  I really wanted to make it work.  I had been looking forward to this trip for a month and it was my intended kick-off for the summer fun.  I had reserved the site for 5 days and it is non-refundable.  And all the work I had put into planning, packing, and purchasing.   And I just really wanted to be outdoors, out of the city, camping.  But it was not fun, the heat, bugs, rude neighbors, no shower(Oh, I forgot to mention, the campground did not have a shower.  You have to drive 10 miles to another campgound to use a shower.  With this heat!  You need one daily!).  I gave in.  Let it go.  There will be more camping trips in my near future.  Still it was a let-down.  I cried while unpacking and was done.

I had planned some yummy menu items, and since this is a food blog, I guess they should be mentioned.  Here is our proposed camp menu.

hot dogs, baked beans

greek salad

citrus marinated chicken

flank steak ramen

pancakes, eggs, bacon

s’mores

indian fry bread

…next time.

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “camping gone wrong”

  1. Priti
    June 23, 2008 at 4:51 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear that your camping trip did not go as planned.
    Hopefully you will enjoy the next one a lot more than you expect 🙂

    How is the kids doing ?

  2. June 23, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    Bummer about the heat and the bugs! I hope your camping later in the summer turn out WAY better!

  3. Angela
    June 23, 2008 at 11:53 pm #

    Awwwww! That sucks! I’m sorry. Being disappointed is one of the worse feelings in life.

  4. Deb
    June 24, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    Bugs, heat and no shower? You were a jewel to keep trying. Santa Barbera is usually beautiful! Sorry your camping trip ended with you crying. Come up north soon and we’ll have some camping successes. 😉

Leave a Reply

