Baking with the kids

Last night I got the cooking bug. I guess it has been a few weeks since I worked, so all the cooking I have been doing has just been for my family. They want predictable and simple. I want something new and fresh. They want pasta with tomato sauce, chicken and rice, brownies, while I crave to make parmesan flan with heirloom tomato and basil, thai steak salad over soba, and a rhubarb-raspberry galette to top it off.

I had a playdate planned for the morning and snacks were needed. An opportunity to make food for other adults, eager to try new things. Oh, and the kids needed something yummy and healthy. I decided on a zucchini ribbon salad that I saw in one of my cooking magazines recently. And some onigiri, I believe, it is called in japanese-rice balls rolled in sesame salt. Some baby bagels, ever popular for the less adventurous youngsters, and some organic orange wedges. And the grand finale: chocolate-zucchini cupcakes.

The recipe was an old one, passed down from my grandma Gallacci or maybe from the Borella side. I just remember enjoying it in my grandma’s house. Having a surplus of squash in the house it came to mind. The kids and I made it together. Once they saw the zucchini go in they “eww” and “gross”ed. I vowed to them they would like it, just as I had when I was little. I was a bit worried, from their reaction, that the other kids at the playdate would refuse to try. Especailly if they could see the shreds of zucchini inside. When finished baking, I was relieved to see that it had disappeared into the cake, no sign of anything besides chocolate and cake.

We also made pie crust cinnamon balls, like the ones I used to make with the scraps of dough my grandma would give my sister and I. We would take the pieces, roll them into small balls, and then roll them in cinnamon and sugar. Grandma would bake them until they just begin to brown. We would have them finished off before they even cooled down.

The kids enjoyed them just as much as my sister and I did. And then ate them up even faster. They played “rock, paper, scissors” to determine who got the last.

We also made some ants on a log for daddy.  He was super excited when he got home, his favorite snack in the fridge waiting for him.

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

