..and this relates to food how?

Isn’t part of having clean, healthy food dependent upon having a healthy ecosystem?  This post is about our local ecosystem and a little surprise I found yesterday.

Okay, this is not directly food-related but I felt it was note-worthy.  I went on a wonderful and suprisingly peaceful bike ride along the LA river into Marina Del Rey yesterday.  I had read in Sunset magazine (Sept 08 issue) about fun day trips and biking the LA river was one of them.  I had never really thought about doing it before but it being within riding distance from my house I decided to give it a try.

I rode west on Culver Blvd until it passed over the LA river, carrying my bike down the steep incline to the path.  This section of the river was abundant with wildlife, much more beautiful than any of the other sections I had passed by in the car.  Off to the other side of the bike path was an natural protected area, and later learned it is the Ballona wetlands.  No cars, no people, no trash, just wide open space and natural beauty.  I felt as if I had left Los Angeles, except for the fact that the river is surrounded by concrete and graffiti covers all posted signs.

I stopped to take in my surroundings; the sound of the wind passing through the brush, crickets off in the distance, birds tweetering at each other.  What a great surprise to find such a healthy, flourishing ecosystem within the city limits.    A wave of peace rushed over me.

I slowly made my way down the path.  I wanted to take it all in and not miss anything.  I stopped a few times on the way back home, gathering seeds from a big green leafy plant and taking pictures.

I would love to take my kids to this wonderful place, teaching them the importance of a healthy ecosystem and the joy of finding beauty wherever you are, even in the most unexpected places.

Categories: travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “..and this relates to food how?”

  1. September 24, 2008 at 7:20 am #

    It’s a beautiful blog – I love the picture of the birds… so I hate to criticize… but what you’re calling the LA River is actually Ballona Creek. They’re similar and many people have made this mistake. See the maps of Ballona Creek here: http://www.coastalconservancy.ca.gov/Ballona/maps.html

    And be careful if you picked seeds from the plant you photographed, because it looks like Castor Bean which I’ve heard has poisonous seeds.

  2. melissadavisfood
    September 24, 2008 at 10:20 pm #

    Thank you for the correction, Joe.

  3. Nona
    July 29, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

    beautiful pictures and words- what a treat.

Leave a Reply

