Making meals for a friend with twins

I spent the whole day on Thursday in the kitchen. Upon waking, I started with breakfast for the kids, while preparing their lunches simultaneously.  After getting them off to school, I begun my day of making meals for my friend with twin boys.

She does not love to cook like I do, and has her hands full with one-year-old twin boys.  Sometimes she likes to order food from me, knowing we have similar tastes and value of healthy whole foods.    She and her husband enjoy the convenience of having homemade prepared meals in the fridge.

I had five separate dishes to make; broccoli-onion quiche with whole wheat crust, arroz con pollo with onion and peppers, peanut chicken with snowpeas and spinach, shredded chicken salad with parsley and red onions, and chicken-pinto bean enchiladas with homemade guajillo salsa.  I threw in a baby broccoli saute because it looked so beautiful and nourishing at the farmers market, the day I was buying her produce.

Some days like this, when I am making a number of dishes, things get rushed and stressful.  This day was relaxed and lovely.  I enjoyed myself, while I prepared her delicious, nourishing foods.  Working with local fresh vegetables, as well as other quality ingredients, made the task of preparing yummy food easy.  And having all the right tools ( I love my kitchen gear!!)

I was pleased with myself, as I hurriedly packed up the prepared food.  It looked so vibrant, smelled so wonderful, and tasted delicious.  It was time to pick up the kids and get this food over to her house.  The day flew by and it was just the sort of day I was hoping for.

blog00051 broccoli quiche

blog0001 chicken salad

blog0002 arroz con pollo

blog0003 peanut chicken

blog0006 baby broccoli

blog0004 enchiladas

Categories: nutrition

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

