Detox menu-day one

p4270001

For breakfast we had Ben’s Friday pancakes, and as always, they were delicious.  Lunch was somewhat of a cheat, with vegetarian indian take out.  Dinner I had to throw together quickly, as my husband was on his way home early, and we were running behind.  A quick glance at the menu, and I decided that the sesame soba with tofu would be the quickest.

I drained the tofu, while the water boiled for the noodles  and the broccoli.  After removing as much water as I could from the tofu, I cut it into thin slices and fried it in sesame oil to crisp.  Noodles boiling and broccoli steaming, while I turned the tofu and added tamari with a dash of mirin.  I cooked down the liquid in the tofu pan and turned off the heat.  All there was left to do was drain the soba and toss together the dressing.

The recipe for the sesame soba called for balsamic vinegar, sesame oil, tamari,sugar, and chili oil.  It was okay,a little vinegary.   I think next time I will use rice vinegar instead or maybe just the standard peanut coconut milk sauce.

Here is what the family thought:

“I liked the tofu and the broccoli.  And I disliked the noodles because they were too vinegary.”-son

“Actually statisfying”-husband

p4270004_0101

Tags: , ,

Categories: food with kids, menus, nutrition

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

