For all those campers/backpacker/foodies out there!

Backpackers_2008_GreenBag721Pro-PaK

You’ve seen them at REI, at Sports Chalet, or the camping section of your favorite store.  Those dehydrated food pouches, perfect for backpacking or camping minimally.  They are versions of some of your favorite foods: spaghetti and meatballs, chicken and rice, Denver omelet, and even international foods like pad thai or chicken curry.  They sound like a really great idea and the price is semi-affordable (serving for 2-$6.99+/-).

I went for it and bought a few for our camping trip to the Channel Islands.  We could only bring what we could carry on our backs, so it made sense to me to bring as little food weight as possible.  And they looked like fun.  If I only knew then what I know now!

They were quite disappointing.  I get a stomach ache just thinking about it now!  The flavor was okay, something along the lines of canned spaghetti and top ramen.  But afterwards, my stomach begin to quiver and my rational mind took over.  What was I thinking?  I didn’t even bother to read the ingredients!  The nutrition facts proved what my stomach already knew.  Sodium-47% of my daily allowance for a half serving!  I wish I had read that before I put it in my mouth!  Lucky for my stomach, I had brought some extra veggies to make up for the processed foods.  They were my lifesaver that night!  I had also bought a chocolate cheesecake desert pouch, that we didn’t even bother to open.

It was a good lesson and something I had to go through to know better next time.  But for those of you out there who are curious and are thinking of trying those food pouches, I advise you otherwise.  Unless, that is, you are used to a diet high in sodium, that you wouldn’t even be fazed by it.  Then go for it.  They are fun and light weight, at least.

Next time, I’m making my own dehydrated food, for such an event.  I found an awesome book, called “Lip Smakin’ Backpackin'”, and they have recipes for homemade version of the above.  Much better idea! Spend those dollars more wisely and buy the book instead of the pouches.  Your tummy will thank me!

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “For all those campers/backpacker/foodies out there!”

  1. July 29, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    Thank you Melissa. i have wanted to buy those myself many times. Many you could try out some of the recipes you found and let us know? Or just post a few recipes- I’d make some for Andy and I for camping- sometimes a person doesn’t want all the prep necessary for a yummy camping trip and want to reach for something different or lightweight as you were going for.
    Wish I had some recipes now- we’re off to camping in the woods night after next.
    Love you.

Leave a Reply

