What’s for dinner?

Location: Small town west of Eugene, OR

We’ve driven all night, thirteen hours from LA to Eugene.  We step out of the car and breathe in the fresh summer air.  The river nearby beckons us for a swim.  I harvest a handful of ripe blackberries from the bushes lining the path, as we climb down towards the water.  The water is refreshing and revives our spirits. 

After a bit of time, our tummies remind us it’s close to dinnertime.  We dry off, and head into the kitchen.  Someone brought a fresh lake trout by, just recently caught.  That, combined with the bag of fresh blue lake green beans I picked up at the farm just down the street, and some potatoes, and we’ll have a perfect summer dinner.

My friend opens up the whole trout, squeezes in some limes, sprinkles some fresh thyme, salt, and pepper.  She then wraps it up in some foil and cooks it in the oven for about 30 minutes. 

Meanwhile, I quarter the yukon gold potatoes, parboil them, and roast them in the oven, in another pan, alongside the fish. I then steam the green beans until just tender, but still crisp on the outside,  and toss them with ricotta salata and balsamic vinegar.

My friend pulls out some heirloom tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, and basil, throws in a dash of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and tosses together a salad. 

We nosh on the foods that are ready, while we wait for the fish and potatoes to finish.  Everything is so perfect, fresh and delicious.  Just what our bodies were craving.

When the fish is done, we serve up and finish eating.  The trout is like nothing I have ever tasted before!  Rich, sweet, and delicious, but not heavy.  The best fish I have had in years!

We finished off the meal with a few bites of Bliss, coconut milk gelato.  Just perfect!

I pondered taking a picture of the meal, as my friend’s husband brought his plate to the table.  It looked so picture-perfect but I didn’t want to take away from the moment.  Now I regret it.  A photo of the meal would add so much more to this post.  I promise, I will come prepared for the next meal:)

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “What’s for dinner?”

  1. Nona
    August 4, 2009 at 9:36 am #

    Nice description of your experience. No need for pictures. I can taste that trout- the trout of my childhood. Yum! what did you do with the blackberries?

  2. Angela
    September 14, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    Very well written!

Leave a Reply

