A day on my dad’s little farm

P827052043

After a simple summer breakfast of fruit and granola, we headed out of town to my dad’s little farm in the outskirts of Port Angeles.  As we pulled off the paved road, I could see him ahead, working in the garden amongst giant green leaves and tall corn stalks.  The sun shone on the abundant plants that surrounded him and I thought to myself what a different picture this was compared to it’s winter counterpart.  Last time we visited was over Christmas break, when the ground was covered with snow, the plants dead or hibernating, and the temperatures kept us inside near the fireplace.

We visited and talked for some time until our tummies started thinking of lunch.  We headed down to the garden to gather some food to cook up.  A little corn, some potatoes, a couple beets, and a handful of green beans.  Add some salmon patties from staples in the pantry and we were complete.  I sat at the breakfast bar and chatted while he cooked, enjoying watching someone else cook for a change.  I marveled at his ability to make due with what he had on hand.  He pulled some pickles out of the fridge, along with some freshly made bread and butter chips, and a chunk of Coastal cheese, to go along with the fresh veg and salmon.  It didn’t necessarily all go together perfectly, but I appreciated his sense of frugality.

After lunch we ventured outside to feed the chickens and gather some vegetables for a dinner party I was having the following day.  My daughter pulled chickweed to feed the chickens, while he filled a box with cucumbers, bi-colored corn, and chiogga beets.  I enjoyed watching as he pulled a bunch of green leaves, exposing bundles of potatoes underground.  I could have stayed here all day, amongst the giant green bushes and towering corn, but the overflowing box of vegetables told me we had enough.

P827048929

P827049030

P827050635

P827050837

Walking the box back to the car, I noticed his new tractor, almost camouflaged under a tree.  He had taken a chunk of his savings to buy a pretty new John Deere.  I knew he would love to show it off and asked if he would.  Being  a country boy at heart, he couldn’t help himself and demonstrated the tractor’s power by pulling a nearby car.  With a big smile still on his face, he took my daughter for a ride to the end of the dirt road.

P827051740

The sun was lowering in the sky and I knew our day at the farm was coming to an end.  With my big box of veg in the seat at my side, I said goodbye, thanking him for a wonderful day.  As a kid, I never imagined myself enjoying a day on the farm, or that it would be one of the highlights of my summer.  But as I get older, these simple things are the ones that mean the most to me.

Tags: , ,

Categories: food with kids, travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “A day on my dad’s little farm”

  1. Maria Alamillo de Ramirez
    September 14, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    Melissa. Awesome pictures. What a great experience for the kids.

  2. Angela
    September 14, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    Very well-written and an interesting read! Thank you for sharing! Nice pics too!

  3. Angela
    September 14, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    Luna REALLY REALLY looks like mom in that bottom picture. It’s uncanny!

Leave a Reply

