Helping out with Amy’s Underground Dinner

I heard from a friend about these local underground themed dinners and I was instantly intrigued.  I love the idea of farm dinners, where guests enjoy a seasonal meal on site.  The underground dinner sounded similar in that it was a one-night event at a special location.  As I looked further into the event, I was convinced I wanted to be a part of it.

I contacted Amy, the owner and executive chef, and she welcomed me right away.  I arrived early the day of the event and helped prepare some of the seven courses she planned to serve.  We worked through the day, only stopping to stretch our backs or drink water.  I was having so much fun, I didn’t even notice it was already time to head over to the location where the meal was to be served.

The location did not have a kitchen so Amy rented a stove to cook outside.  People scurried about, setting up, finishing and assembling dishes, and getting ready for the guests to arrive.  Though this was my first event of this type, I had an idea of the plan and tried to make myself as useful as possible.

The menu begun with crab and swiss cheese mini quiches.

Followed by delicate little port and goat cheese napoleons with pistachios.

The third appetizer was a queso fundido with chorizo and homemade guacamole.

Dinner begun with a roasted cauliflower and white cheddar soup with sharp cheddar tuiles.

(I was busy helping serve the soup that I did not get a photo. )

Yam and goat cheese raviolis followed the soup, topped with a sage brown butter sauce.

The main dish was proscuitto-wrapped chicken with fontina and spinach and a small side of potato gratin.

The meal  finished off with a beautiful pecan pie cheesecake with vanilla and raspberry sauces.

Here is Amy showing us how it’s done.

The event went beautifully, even with the limitations of no kitchen and little bumps along the way.  It was wonderful working with Amy and her talented staff.  I hope to be able to lend a hand at her next event.  Can’t wait to see what the menu will be!

Props go to Tad, Amy’s right-hand-man.  He ran the stove like a professional, despite the numerous dishes to cook off, no light, and heat inconsistency.   Great work Tad!

Tags: , ,

Categories: check this out!, menus

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Helping out with Amy’s Underground Dinner”

  1. Nonna
    December 8, 2009 at 7:26 am #

    wow- yes hats off the the guy cooking!
    I want to hear all the details in person!
    What a wonderful thing to be part of.

Leave a Reply

