Visit to the Guatemalan bakery

My friend Nancy moved from her native Guatemala to Los Angeles a little over a year ago.  Since the very first visit to her house, I have been trying to learn her culinary traditions.  She has us over for dinner sometimes during the week and I quiz her about what she’s made.  One day she had a travel magazine out and she showed me some of the foods they eat in Guatemala, that are uncommon here.  I was instantly intrigued.  In my head, I was already planning a trip together to explore her native foods.

Last week I had a free day so we decided to go downtown to experience Guatemalan food.  I had searched online the night before, to find a Guatemalan grocery store, but the only thing I found was clothing shops, restaurants, and bakeries.  They would have to do.

After a quick stop off at the clothing store to see traditional dress, we headed down the block to Pan Victoria 2.

Inside was like any other bakery, with an assortment different shaped bread and sweet breads.  Off to one corner was a hot bar, with some stews, beans, tamales, and unknown bundles.  I wanted to have an unknown bundle.  Nancy explained to me the different dishes and we bought a couple sample.

*chuchito* (similar to a tamale)

*rellenito*(plantain wrapped around refried black beans)

They were both delicious! One savory, one sweet, but thankfully, not too sweet.

After our snack, we bought a couple bakery items for later snacking.

Nancy bought me a lengua:

and a quesadilla (not at all like the Mexican style one most Americans know):

and a chile relleno. (again, a little different than the commonly known one)

It was a delicious day! Can’t wait for this weekend, when we plan on having our families together to make a combined traditional Christmas dinner.  She’ll be making the main dish and the fruit ponche, while I will bring something traditional from our family.

Tags:

Categories: travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Visit to the Guatemalan bakery”

  1. Angela
    December 9, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    Wow! Facinating!

  2. Nonna
    December 9, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

    OOooo bring some recipes north! seriously!

  3. December 10, 2009 at 10:18 pm #

    Ay, que rico! I´m from El Salvador, the country bordering Guatemala, so we have very similar traditional foods and seeing your pictures brought back so many familiar tastes. I sooo want a quesadilla now.

    • melissadavisfood
      December 13, 2009 at 9:35 am #

      Ana, when you’re in town next time maybe we can meet for some rellenitos and quesadillas?!
      Thanks for stopping by the blog:)

Leave a Reply

