Midweek dinner

This stormy weather has been messing with my internal time clock.  Looking out the window, I can’t tell what time of the day it is.

After picking the kids up from school, I begun reorganizing the kitchen cabinet, something I had been putting off since after the holiday.  Little time seemed to have past, but looking up at the clock, it was already 5:30! Time to get dinner going.  Scavenging the pantry and fridge, I came up with this dinner. A few yams on their last leg, an onion, a beginning to get wilty green pepper, some ground beef.  Sloppy joes!

I hadn’t made real sloppy joes in years and had to refer to my classic Betty Crocker cookbook.  The last few times I had made it, I replaced the beef with tempeh, which I think I liked better.  Maybe it was the sauce recipe Betty came up with.  The one I threw together for the tempeh was more of a barbeque sauce.  This one called for Worcestershire, tomato, and spices.  Next time I’m sticking with my own recipe.  But at least it looked pretty on the plate.  And the yam fries were good!

Tags:

Categories: food with kids

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Midweek dinner”

  1. Angela
    January 21, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    I got a case of “sloppy joe” canned mix last year at Costco because I hadn’t had them (sloppy joes) in years. OMG. YUCK. It was so sweet and disguisting. I looked at the label and you wouldn’t have believed how much added sugar was in that crap. And they market this stuff for FAMILIES! The parents probably think it’s healthy and have no idea how much sugar they are feeding their kids! After one meal, I gave the entire case to the food bank. I don’t know why they sell the sauce canned when it is so easy to make yourself!

    • melissadavisfood
      January 22, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

      People like easy! If they only knew how easy and how much yummier it is when you make it yourself. Also most Americans like really sweet and their palates are so used to it, they can’t tell it’s oversweet. Glad you tossed it! Amazing how taking a break from the processed foods clears you and you can taste the little subtle things, or the things you had become desensitized to.

Leave a Reply

