so i’ve got a big pot of beans. now what?

I cleaned out my pantry yesterday after the kids got home from school.  I re-organized and pulled all the food out from the dark shadows of my pantry.  I had been stock-piling some staple food items back there, like jars of raw honey, mason jars filled with brown rice, bags of dried chilies, corn husks for tamales, and beans.  I tossed down the beans and finished re-organizing

Beans.  Humble, simple beans.  Cheap as dirt,  a bag’s only a dollar, so versatile, and  nutrient dense too.  Perfect for this cold weather and nutritional relief from the overindulgence from the holidays.

So I soaked the beans last night as I prepared dinner.  This morning I drained them and started them to cook, adding a few bay leaves for flavor and a piece of kombu for digestability.  Now it’s early afternoon, the beans are done, and I’m wondering what to do with a whole pot of cooked black beans.  Luckily, I love black beans and can make them a hundred different ways, but what, specifically do I want to make with them?  Here’s what I’m thinking:

black beans and quinoa

refried black bean tacos

black bean soup

What would you do with a pot of beans?

Tags:

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “so i’ve got a big pot of beans. now what?”

  1. Sara Telona
    January 27, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Empanadas, Quesadillas, Enfrijoladas (dip the tortilla and hot oil and then in pureed beans, roll and top w/ cheese/cilantro/onions and salsa), Molletes (french roll w/ refried beans and cheese and warmed in oven), tostadas, throw some ground meat in, mix whole beans w/ white rice for “Casamiento” (Costa Rica). My momma gave me an earful! 🙂

    • melissadavisfood
      January 27, 2010 at 11:14 am #

      Love the ideas! I still have some beans left, think I’ll try the enfrijoladas! Thank you.

  2. Nonna
    January 27, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    White bean and lots of carrots, a little garlic, potatoes, a little spinach, chopped up yams and a little squash. Made it yesterday with the kids and served with whole grain bread- they ate the whole Pot- talking about how beans were a protein and their bodies needed protein. 🙂 I was reading that simmering your soup 2-3 hours on low makes a bowl of soup full of immunity building yumminess. Oh, yes- started with a good and organic stock.

    • melissadavisfood
      January 27, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

      Mmmm! Love white beans soup with lots of veggies. Guess it’s the Italian in us.
      Thanks for stopping by Mom:)

  3. Angela
    January 28, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    If I had a bunch of leftover beans, I would freeze them for a night I don’t feel like cooking.

    Also, they’d be good on nachos!

    • melissadavisfood
      January 28, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

      didn’t think of that. Thanks!

  4. Angela
    January 28, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    By the way, LOVE black bean soup. I feel so good when I eat it. YUMMMMM

    • melissadavisfood
      January 28, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

      They do feel very nourishing. My friends from Guatemala blend up cooked black beans with some sauteed onion and salt, and dip chips in it. Just like soup but a little thicker. Yum!

Leave a Reply

