Swiss chard pie

I remember the first time I met a swiss chard pie.  I was living in Italy and had stopped by my favorite bakery on my way home.  As I browsed the shelves to see what was fresh, something green caught my eye.  There it was, in all it’s simple glory.  Nothing fancy about it, just a plain crust, surrounding a chopped green interior.  There was something sort of old world about it, like something my grandma would have made.

I took home a piece and have been in love ever since.  I had never thought to make it before, as it seemed like alot of work, but I recently ran across a recipe and it made it look so easy.  So I gave it a shot.

I decided to make the crust half fresh ground whole wheat and I really liked the results.  It had a nice texture to accompany the veg.

The filling I made out of a mixture of collards and chard, which I wasn’t too happy with.  Next time, I will go with only chard and add a little extra lemon too, as it was too bitter for my tastes.

All in all, I was happy with the results, as it was a relatively easy recipe and everything came out perfect, minus the bitterness.

Tags: ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

