World Cup party food

Okay, normally I don’t get into the whole sports thing.  But a friend invited us over on Saturday to watch USA vs. Ghana and we agreed, partly for the company, partly for the food, but very little because of the game.

My friend was making Guatemalan ceviche (like traditional ceviche, but with soy sauce) and serving her famous Micheladas, a drink that combines tomato juice, lime, and beer. YUM!  For these reasons alone, I was willing to endure the watching sports.

The food was delicious and I actually really enjoyed the game.  I liked the fact that all these people from around the world were coming together with a common interest.  Maybe that’s what sets soccer apart for me, that it’s something we all have in common, even if we aren’t rooting for the same team.

The next day was Mexico vs. Argentina and we decided to do it all over again, this time me providing the food.  On the menu:  beef and potato empanadas (in honor of Argentina, who we were rooting for), carne asada, and homemade salsa with chips.

I was happily surprised to see all of my empanadas disappear within minutes!  The carne asada was just as delicious, especially with the homemade warm salsa!

I’ll do World Cup any day of the week if that’s what it’s going to be like!

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “World Cup party food”

  1. Nonna
    July 6, 2010 at 5:36 am #

    I want the recipes please! Seriously fun and yummy looking food. You think the school kids could make empanadas?

Leave a Reply

