Northwest summer fruit

image

image

image

image

image

image

Throughout the year I am grateful to live in a warm state with an amazing variety of local produce. When the winter comes, my family in the NW is limited to greens and roots, while I have a blast sampling the subtropicals and amazing variety southern California offers.

  But when it comes to summer, there is no better place to be than the NW!  With the berries, cherries, stone fruit, and rhubarb, I can’t help but fill my farmers market basket to the brim.  On walks, I take the path with overgrowth, hoping to find a blackberry patch.  I sneak to the neighbor’s blueberry bush, helping clear out the excess. I have even been known to pull the car over at the sight of a wild huckleberry bush.

Today at the local health food store, I found my first basket of red currents of the year. I was so excited, as these sweet-sour little jems were on my foodie wishlist for the summer.  They were actually the inspiration for me to write this post.

Tomorrow we are having a family reunion and I plan on making a peach pie with a streusel top and a blackberry-rhubarb pie with a classic double crust.  I can’t wait! Anything homemade with northwest summer fruit and I’m sold!

Tags:

Categories: travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

