Spring Detox: Day Two

The morning started out good with some yummy ground steel-cut oat pancakes, blueberries and raspberry smoothie for the kids.

And some spelt-oat meal, blueberries and a tangerine for the adults.  The oatmeal was a bit of a challenge, as I love mine with lots of butter, cream and maple syrup.  I compromised with coconut oil instead of butter, almond milk for the cream, itty bitty drizzle of maple syrup and dash of salt.   It was delicious!

Inspired by the teenagers in my morning cooking class, I made a lovely black bean-corn salad for lunch.  It had: red bell pepper, green onion, cucumber, cilantro, lime juice, jalapeno,avocado, olive oil and salt. My husband and I ate every last morsel.

For dinner, I went off the menu, as I craved something without beans.  I saw this buckwheat soba in my pantry, right next to the can of coconut milk, and dinner was decided. Soba with peanut sauce!  I used to make this for a client friend of mine, who hired me when she had twins.  She liked her peanut sauce with almond butter instead.  This one was made from a can of coconut milk, peanut butter, tamari and a dash of rice vinegar.  A little chili paste would make a nice addition, but we were out.  To this sauce, I added the cooked noodles, peas, cabbage, orange bell pepper, green onion and cilantro.  The whole family gobbled it up.

The second day was easier than the first for me.  No more coffee-withdrawl headaches, no cravings for snacks.  Though it was a challenge when I visited the Walla Walla Bread Co. for a meeting today, knowing I would be bringing home a loaf of warm spelt bread made it easy.

Surprisingly, I don’t crave sugar.  I thought that would be one of the hardest things.  Knowing I am making healthy choices, that it will only last a week, and my determination to do this right have made me forget about my love of sweet things.  If I want a sweet treat, I pick an apple, orange or banana from the fruit bowl.  If I’m really just hungry, I have a drink of smoothie or slice of that yummy spelt bread.

My family, on the other hand, are having a harder time.  My daughter broke down in tears today, when she realized that she couldn’t eat the muffins we were making in cooking class.  I reminded her she could have some next week, and consoled her with the offer to make a special batch together.  For the time being, she could enjoy a cup of frozen blueberries, one of her favorite foods.  She wiped the tears and became my helper for the day.

My son follows along, but with no excitement.  Both kids understand why we are doing the detox and share with their classmates the details, seemingly with pride.  Maybe because they like to show off interesting things they know and do.  Whatever the reason, they are still on board with me and don’t seem to be dragging their feet too much.  They did have rice “sushi”rolls for lunch today, which is a special treat. It’s not all bad:)

The husband appeared to be flowing with the process but admitted to having major cravings and feelings of not being satisfied.  He is a big dairy guy, treating himself to a snack of cheese and crackers at least once a day. In the past, when I packed his lunches, he was never satisfied with a mere veggie-bean salad for lunch.  This is sort of that lunch all over again, for a week.  Hopefully the next few days I will come up with enough interesting meals to keep him going.

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: menus, my project and events, nutrition

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Spring Detox: Day Two”

  1. Deb Kumpula
    March 7, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    Wow- great job!
    So inspiring. I didn’t realize the kids were part of it. What a gift to ypur children!

  2. March 7, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    I don’t know if it is because I’ve just come off 7 days of eating nothing but RAW vegan food…but your menu doesn’t look like “deprivation” to me AT ALL. It looks amazing. Like really delicious food! (I found the comments about hubby not feeling satisfied very interesting!) Your lunch was raw vegan, and I’m stealing the idea. I didn’t make anything like that when I did 100% raw vegan days. It looks so much more satisfying and interesting than a green salad. Also your soba noodle dish look REALLY REALLY yummy. It’s vegan, and I’m going to make it – but maybe an uncooked version with kelp noodles. Then again, I’m not raw vegan yet and I might just be high raw and 100% vegan which would allow me to eat dishes like your soba noodle dish once in a while (I’m just thinking out loud). Keep up the good work!

    It’s cute how you shared the feelings of each family member – Luna’s tears, Jaden’s apathy, yet the kids telling their friends about it!!!!!! Love this post!

    • March 7, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      Oh, I just realized your lunch isn’t raw vegan…I forgot about the black beans!

  3. March 7, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Oh, I was wondering what this was about? “Inspired by the teenagers in my morning cooking class” ????

    • melissadavisfood
      March 7, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      I do a cooking class with the kids who are transitioning out of juvenile detention. That day we made the black bean corn salad.

      ________________________________

      • March 7, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

        How cool! I didn’t know you do that. Very neat!

Leave a Reply

