Spring Detox: Day Three

I’m getting into the groove of this diet, but I am pretty exhausted from all the planning, prepping and preparing. I wake up early to get the kid’s breakfast and lunches made, while my husband enjoys another hour of sleep.  I get them off to school and prepare our breakfast and lunches.  Then off to work to cook some more, come home and make dinner.  Check emails, play a game with the kids before bedtime, tuck them in and get back on the computer to write about my day and write an article for the paper.  Ugh!

Thank goodness it’s almost the weekend, so we won’t have to get up early and pack lunches. But no days off this week.  I have a catering gig Saturday and cooking classes Sunday.  I’m going to continue with the detox, but the family is off the hook.  Amongst all the other stuff I have going on, I can’t take my daughter’s tears when presented with a snack she can’t eat at the after-school program and my son’s “This is what we’re having for dinner?”.  I know it’s good for them, and we’ve gotten out of the habit of eating vegetarian meals at home, so the food is unfamiliar.  So maybe I won’t make them continue with me, but I will start preparing these same sort of meals here and there through the week.  It’s delicious and nutritious, just not what they are used to eating.

Without further ado, here is what we ate for our third day of detox.

For breakfast: steel-cut oat pancakes with raspberries and orange juice.

For lunch, the kids had peanut butter and honey sandwiches on spelt bread, carrot sticks and apple slices.

For my lunch, I had leftover brown rice and black beans, with fresh salsa and sauteed spinach.  I sprinkled a few pine nuts on top for crunch and a little extra protein.

For dinner:  tofu wild mushroom lettuce cups with tamari and sesame oil.  I steamed some broccoli as well.  It was tasty!! For the kids, I left out the mushrooms, but they ate one and said they were full.  I heated up the leftover soba from last night and they gobbled it up.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: menus, my project and events, nutrition

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Spring Detox: Day Three”

  1. Marcia
    March 9, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Melissa you are an inspiration!!!!
    Great job gal!!!! Hang in there!
    love from Kalispell

  2. March 9, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Great job and great post! I am enjoying following along!

Leave a Reply

