Spring Detox: Day Four

For breakfast, I made up some oatmeal with spelt and rolled oats.  I added coconut oil, raisins and a dash of maple syrup.  It was tasty!

My husband had a bowl of granola with almond milk.  The kids decided they’ve had enough of the detox, and are back to toast, butter and fruit for breakfast.

Also for breakfast, a berry smoothie, with almond milk, raspberries, strawberries and blueberries. I made enough extra for snack later in the day.

For lunch, I was short on time and made peanut butter and honey sandwiches on spelt bread.  It satiated me until I got home and could make a real meal.

For dinner, I made sauteed kale, wild mushrooms and onion until just tender and added cooked farro.  With a drizzle of tamari, my dinner was complete.  It was delicious and satisfying.

I’m really starting to get the hang of this diet.  With lots of fresh fruits and veggies in the house, all I need to plan ahead is the grain and protein.  I soak a few grains the night before, and think about what protein I might use.  If it’s going to be beans, I soak them as well.  With those two components out of the way, it’s just a matter of adding a variety of veggies to a pan, cook them until they are almost done, add the grains/proteins and the meal is ready.

I make almond milk almost daily, as we use it up for smoothies and granola.  Smoothies are our saving grace, for those snackish moments, or when we get home starved and need something instant.

My husband found our juicer in the unpacked boxes in our closet and we can start tomorrow with some fresh juices as well.  I’m thinking apple-carrot-ginger! Yum!

I feel great, making a healthy BM everyday, and don’t feel deprived in anyway.  I’m thinking I’m going to keep going for another week, but don’t think I can keep up with taking pictures of all my food.  Remembering to take pics, trying to get the right lighting and uploading every night is exhausting!  But I said I would, and I’m going to finish the week off.  I will continue to track my intake and post menus, for those interested.

This has been a great project so far; my husband and I are both glad we decided to undertake this food adventure.  I’m learning alot about myself, my food habits and vices and the foods I can really do without.  It’s a wonderful awakening and experience.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: food with kids, my project and events, nutrition

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Spring Detox: Day Four”

  1. March 13, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Thanks for another great post! Both the oatmeal and the kale dish look really delish!

    Don’t forget that veggies have protein, too! Especially dark, leafy ones, and broccoli. And fruit has protein! Blueberries are pretty high! So you don’t ALWAYS have to add beans or something to get your protein. (Plus we focus on protein way too much in this country. We really don’t need that much!)

    Yay for juices! Your apple-carrot-ginger sounds good. You know what else would be good in that? Lemon! I love the combo of those 4 together. The lemon highlights and gives a little extra something.

    I can’t wait to see your next post, and think it is great you are going to do it for another week! Yay!

Leave a Reply

