Spring Detox: Day Five

I’ve gotten a little lazier these days, forgetting to take pictures and lacking the energy to post at the end of the day.  So here’s my day five, a few days late.

This morning, I had the lovely oat pancakes again.  I find them more satisfying than any other breakfast food option.  To switch it up a bit, I topped them with a raspberry rhubarb compote I made last week.  What a beautiful match!  Nibbling on them while checking my morning emails, I thought these would make a wonderful rolled crepe, if I made the batter thinner.  Next time!

For lunch, I threw together white beans with assorted veggies we had in the fridge.  A leftover potato, cubed, some corn, asparagus and fresh spinach.  I sauteed the potatoes and asparagus, then added the rest of the items to warm and wilt.  Topped off with some pinenuts, it was quite nourishing and savory!

My husband, who was home at lunchtime, came up with his own creation with the ingredients on hand. His was a cold spinach salad with white beans, cashews, corn and a balsamic-olive oil dressing.  It was delicious as well.

For dinner, I thought I’d mix it up a bit and go international with some falafel.  Normally, we would drizzle a yogurt dressing over them, but the no dairy rule cancelled that thought.  They were still quite yummy, with all the fresh veggies and a light drizzle of olive oil.  The kids weren’t big fans, so I made them some last minute pasta.

For a nice snack, I also made some strawberry-raspberry spelt muffins.  Instead of sugar, I used honey and they were plenty sweet.  Dicing the strawberries in small pieces made for a nice touch, so each bite rewards with tasty bits of strawberry.  I made 30, and we almost made it through all of them before they started to get stale.  Next time, I’ll pack some away in the freezer for future snacking.

Some of the positive things I’ve noticed since starting this detox:

I’m not eating out of boredom anymore.

No longer part of the processed food world, I’m seeing with new fresh eyes the sad state of food we live in.  The majority of food that fills the shelves of grocers is far from it’s original natural state, processed and packaged, to help?? consumers??  We’ve become so immune to in, surrounded by it daily that we don’t even notice how far we’ve come from when our grandparents were growing up.  Sad indeed!

I don’t need coffee like I thought I did.  I just like the taste and convention.

…two more days to go.  Then I’m thinking of easing back in, with some easily digestible dairy foods.  and maybe a beer or two.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: check this out!, community projects, food with kids, menus, my project and events, nutrition

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Spring Detox: Day Five”

  1. March 16, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    “No longer part of the processed food world, I’m seeing with new fresh eyes the sad state of food we live in. The majority of food that fills the shelves of grocers is far from it’s original natural state, processed and packaged, to help?? consumers?? We’ve become so immune to in, surrounded by it daily that we don’t even notice how far we’ve come from when our grandparents were growing up. Sad indeed!” This was my favorite part of your post!

    As far as the caffeine, I stopped drinking it for a several weeks…and then this past week I started drinking it…and wowza. It has had a really, really negative affect on me. I get so amped up…and then I crash…I’m getting headaches again…I’m more tired in the morning, and exhausted at night. I don’t like it at all. After being so clean, and then adding it back in, I really feel the difference, and I actually feel like crap. Like really bad. I actually feel like a drug addict or something….all strung out. So I’m cutting it back out, and I’m going to keep it out FOR GOOD.

    Thanks for your post! Still really enjoying following your progress.

Leave a Reply

