Spring Detox: Day Six

Today I made a lovely citrus juice from blood oranges, grapefruit and navel oranges.  It had a beautiful rosy hue and I tried to make it last throughout the day, though it was so delicious I wanted to drink it all at once.  Maybe I’ll buy more fruit next time, so I can make enough to last a couple days.

 

Lunch was leftover peanut butter coconut milk soba with veggies.  It was even better the second day:)

 

For dinner I made a nourishing savory miso soup with wakame, carrots, mushrooms and snap peas.  I boiled udon noodles to add to the kid’s soup.  So satisfying, warm and delicious.   Perfect for this rainy cold (almost) spring day.

This was the first time I made a miso soup from scratch, that actually tasted like the ones you get at a nice Japanese restaurant.  I started by make a dashi stock with bonito flakes and kombu, strained them out and added the veggies until tender.  Adding the miso paste to the individual bowl before serving ensured no damage to the flavor of the fragile miso.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: check this out!, my project and events, nutrition

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

